Today kicks off “Click it or Ticket.” From May 21 to
June 3, including Memorial Day weekend, Texas officers will be stepping up their enforcement of the state’s seatbelt laws, according to a news release from the Texas Department of Transportation.
The law requires everyone in a vehicle to be properly buckled up or face fines and court costs up to $200.
Children younger than age 8 must be in a child safety seat or booster seat, unless they’re taller than 4-feet, 9-inches. If they are not properly restrained, the driver faces fines of up to $250 in court costs, according to the news release.
More than 900 people who weren’t wearing a seatbelt during a wreck, died last year in Texas.
Officials hope the “Click it or Ticket” campaign will remind drivers and passengers that wearing a seatbelt is the single most effective step they can take to protect themselves in a crash.
Wearing a seatbelt reduces the risk of dying in a crash by 45 percent. That number jumps to 60 percent for pickup trucks, the news release said.
For more information, visit www.texasclickitorticket.com.