default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Runoff voting starts Monday

Overby, Moser seek party nomination for commissioner

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, July 20, 2012 11:00 pm

Incumbent Kerr County Commissioner Guy Overby and Airport Board member Tom Moser will face off for the second time this year in their bids for the Republican Party nomination.

Early voting in the Republican Party and Democratic Party primary election runoff begins Monday at four polling places in Kerr County and across the state. Locally, the race for the party nomination for the Precinct 2 county commissioner’s seat is the only contest.

Because there is no Democrat seeking that office, the winner of the July 31 runoff election will face no opponent in the November general election and will begin a four-year term in January. Commissioners receive a salary of $49,581.

Kerr County election coordinator Nadene Alford said she is not expecting a large turnout, although she has received 700 requests for mail ballots. Those application are due Tuesday.

“I think it will be a fair turnout. I don’t see it being very big,” Alford said.

There were 9,163 ballots cast in the May 29 party primary elections, which included candidates for president, U.S. representative and an intensely contested race for 198th District Attorney.

Voters who participated in the Republican Party primary election in May or who did not vote in either primary election can vote in the Republican Party runoff. Voters who participated in the Democratic Party primary cannot switch parties in the runoff but can vote in that party’s runoff.

There were 476 votes cast in the May 29 Democratic Party primary election. That primary did not offer any local candidates.

The Democratic Party statewide primary runoff has one race. In that race, Paul Sadler and Grady Yarbrough are seeking the party’s nomination to run for U.S. Senate in the November general election.

Other than the one local race, the Republican Party ballot has four contests. The most notable race is between Ted Cruz and David Dewhurst, who are seeking the party nomination for U.S. Senate. The winner of that race will face the winner of the Democratic Party nomination in November.

The other Republican races on the ballot are for two seats on the Railroad Commission and the Place 4 seat on the Supreme Court. Warren Chisum and Christi Craddick are fighting for the party nomination for one spot on the railroad commission while Greg Parker and Barry Smitherman are seeking the nomination for the other. John Devine and David Medina are running for the party nomination for the spot on the Supreme Court.

Early voting lasts until Friday. Registered voters can cast ballots this week from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Kerr County Courthouse Annex in Ingram or at the Kathleen C. Cailloux City Center for the Performing Arts in Kerrville.

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language. PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
  • 2 Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness acounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.

1 comment:

  • an observer posted at 12:11 pm on Sat, Jul 21, 2012.

    an observer Posts: 4

    Where will the voting places be for the early voting?


Featured Events

Online poll


Follow us on Facebook

Latest Video